Maureen O'Hara, Harry Belafonte to Receive Honorary Oscars

The four recipients of the annual Academy Governor's Awards were announced today. The winners of the Honorary Awards are Maureen O'Hara, Harry Belafonte, Hayao Miyazaki and screenwriter Jean-Claude Carriere. Maureen O'Hara was a star of Hollywood's Golden Age who acted in such classics as The Hunchback of Notre Dame (1939), Miracle on 34th Street (1947) The Quiet Man (1952) and The Parent Trap (1961). Carriere is a celebrated screenwriter who collaborated with Luis Bunuel on several films, including The Discreet Charm of the Bourgeoisie and That Obscure Object of Desire, while Hayao Miyazaki is the legendary Japanese filmmaker who founded Studio Ghibli and is responsible for classic features like Howl's Moving Castle, My Neighbor Totoro and the Oscar-winning Spirited Away, among many others. Harry Belafonte, an actor, singer, producer and activist since the 1950's, is being awarded the Jean Hersholt Humanitarian Award for his humanitarian efforts. The Governor's Awards are being held November 8th.